Visakhapatnam Metro – Information, Map & Updates

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview


The Visakhapatnam Metro system is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) that has been approved to be built in the city of Visakhapatnam (Vizag) in Andhra Pradesh.  The project’s Detailed Project Report with 3 elevated lines was prepared by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) who was also assigned to execute the project in September 2015.

Funding issues have delayed the project and with the AP government giving priority to Vijayawada’s Metro, construction on Visakhapatnam’s metro is now expected to begin in 2018.

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 0 km | Approved: 42.54 km

Line 1  Gajuwaka to Kommadi: 30.38 km with 18 stations

Line 2 – Gurudwara Junction to Old Post Office: 5.25 km with 6 stations

Line 3 – Thatichetlapalem to Chinna Waltair: 6.91 km with 7 stations

Note: Official line colors have not been assigned yet.

Future Network: Phase 1

The embedded map below can be zoomed into!

Line 1Kommadi Junction, Hanumanthawaka Junction, Maddilapalem, Gurudwara Junction, Akkayyapalem, Kancharapalem, Muralinagar, Government Polytechnic College, Thatichetlapalem, Kancharapalem, Murali Nagar, GSI, NAD Junction, Visakhapatnam International Airport, Sheela Nagar, BHPV, Auto Nagar and Gajuwaka.

Line 2 – BVK College, RTC Complex, Dabagardens, Saraswati Circle, Poorna Market and Old Post Office.

Line 3 – New Railway Colony, Railway Station, Allipuram Junction, RTC Complex, Siripuram Junction, Andhra University and Chinna Waltair.

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview