Mumbai – Nagpur Expressway – Information & Status Update

701 km Mumbai – Nagpur Expressway (Samruddhi Mahamarg) by MSRDC is an under construction 6 lane access-controlled road with a route alignment connecting Village Shivmadka in Nagpur District to Village Amne in Thane District

Samruddhi Mahamarg was opened and inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 11, 2022. The first phase (502 km) connects Nagpur – Shirdi.

This greenfield project was first announced in 2015 and land acquisition began in July 2017. Its foundation stone was laid by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in December 2018, and construction work started in January 2019 for 16 civil packages.

  • Total Estimated Cost: Rs. 55,000 crore
  • Project Length: 701 km
  • Lanes: 6
  • Status: Partially Operational and Under Construction
  • Opening: 2022 (502 km Nagpur – Shirdi)
  • Deadline: 2024-end
  • Land Acquisition Required: 24,255 acres (9,900 Ha)
  • Official Name: Hindu Hrudaysamrat Balasaheb Thackeray Maharashtra Samruddhi Mahamarg
  • Also Known As: Nagpur-Mumbai Super Communication Expressway
  • Owner: Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC)
  • Project Model: EPC (Engineering, Procurement and Construction)

Project Overview Video

Design & Alignment

The 6 lane expressway is 120m broad and is designed for a top speed of 150 kmph.

The expressway connects the districts of Nagpur, Wardha, Amravati, Washim, Buldhana, Aurangabad, Jalna, Ahmednagar, Nashik and Thane.

Its route passes through 3 wildlife sanctuaries. To protect wildlife, several overpasses, underpasses and high culverts will be built. The expressway features a 310m bridge over river Wardha, 33 major bridges, 274 minor bridges, 65 viaducts/flyovers and six tunnels through the Western Ghats. The longest tunnel is being built at Kasara Ghat, Igatpuri.

Entry and Exit List

MSRDC hasn’t published an official entry and exit list to towns and highways connected by this expressway. This section will be updated when they do.

Route Map

MSRDC hasn’t released a detailed route map of the expressway. You’ll be better off following its alignment on Google Maps here.

An official PDF route map of Mumbai – Nagpur Expressway will be added here when available.

Samruddhi Mahamarg expressway will be connected to the following upcoming expressways:

Current Status

Samruddhi Mahamarg was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 11, 2022. The first phase (502 km) connects Nagpur – Shirdi.

Samruddhi Mahamarg Toll Rates

Type of  vehicleSamruddhi Mahamarg toll charges per kmOne way toll charges between Mumbai & Nagpur
Light Motor Vehicle (Car, Jeep)Rs 1.73Rs 1,212
Light Motor Commercial Vehicle (Light goods vehicle, mini bus)Rs 2.79Rs 1,955
Heavy Vehicle (two axle like Bus, truck)Rs 5.85Rs 4,100
Heavy commercial vehicles (three axle vehicles)Rs 6.38Rs 4,472
Heavy construction machineryRs 9.18Rs 6,435
Oversized vehicles (multi axle- seven or more axle)Rs 11.17Rs 7,830

Tenders & Contractors

The project has been divided into 16 civil packages. Bids for their construction were invited in March 2018 and contracts were awarded by January 2019.

Package (Length) & SectionContractor
Package 1 (31 km): From Km. 0.000 to Km. 31.000 (Section – Village Shivmadka to Village Khadki Amgaon) in District NagpurMedha Engineering
Package 2 (58.412 km): From Km. 31.000 to Km. 89.413 (Section – Village Khadki Amgaon to Village Pimpalgaon) in District WardhaAfcons Infrastructure
Package 3 (73.367 km): From Km. 89.300 to Km. 162.667 (Section – Village Ashta to Village Wadhona Ramnath) in District AmravatiNCC
Package 4 (54.356 km): From Km. 162.667 to Km. 217.023 In (Section – Village Donad Bk. to Village Januna kh.) in District WashimPNC Infratech
Package 5 (31 km): From Km. 217.023 to Km. 259.900 (Section – Village Kinhiraja to Village Kenwad) in District WashimAPCO Infratech (previously Sadbhav Engineering)
Package 6 (36.10 km): From Km. 259.900 to Km. 296.000 (Section – Village Belgaon to Village Parda) in District BuldhanaAPCO Infratech
Package 7 (51.190 km): From Km. 296.000 to Km. 347.190 (Section – Village Banda to Village Sawargaon Mal) in District BuldhanaReliance Infra
Package 8 (42.720 km): From Km. 347.725 to Km. 390.445 (Section – Village Nhava to Villagef) in District JalnaMontecarlo
Package 9 (54.40 km): From Km. 390.445 to Km. 444.485 (Section – Village Bendewadi to Village Fatiwabad) in District AurangabadMegha Engineering
Package 10 (57.91 km): From Km. 444.845 to Km. 502.752 (Section – Village Fatiwabad to Village Surala) in District AurangabadLarsen & Toubro (L&T)
Package 11 (29.396): From Km. 0.000 to Km. 31.000 (Section – Village Shivmadka to Village Khadki Amgaon) in District NagpurGayatri Projects
Package 12 (45.645 km): From Km. 532.094 To Km. 577.739 in section – Village Pathare Kh. to Village Sonari in District NashikDilip Buildcon
Package 13 (45.64 km): From KM. 577.739 TO KM. 623.379 (Section – Village Sonari to Village Taranganpada) in District NashikBSCPL – GVPR JV
Package 14 (13.10 km): From Km. 623.379 to Km. 636.479 in section – Village Taranganpada- Pimpri Sadroddin to Village Vashala BK in District ThaneAfcons Infrastructure
Package 15 (28.00 km) From Km. 636.479 to Km. 664.479 in section – Village Vashala BK to Village Birwadi in District ThaneNavayuga Engineering Company
Package 16 (37.00 km) From Km. 664.479 to Km. 701.362 in section – Village Birwadi to Village Amne in District ThaneNavayuga Engineering Company

Page last updated: April 24, 2023. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.