Ganga Expressway – Information & Status Update

594 km Ganga Expressway project by UPEIDA is an under construction 6 lane greenfield access-controlled highway with a route alignment connecting NH-334 in Meerut District with NH-2 at Prayagraj (Allahabad) Bypass in Prayagraj District.

Ganga Expressway’s foundation stone was laid by Prime Minister Modi in Shahjahanpur on December 18, 2021. The expressway is expected to be completed and opened in December 2025 (current deadline).

This greenfield project was first announced in 2008 connect Noida with Ballia. Since then, the project in Phase 1 has been revised to connect Meerut with Prayagraj. In Phase 2, the expressway will be extended by 110 km to Tigri on the Uttar Pradesh / Uttrakhand Border and by 314 km to Ballia near Varanasi.

In February 2021, Uttar Pradesh’s state government decided to extend the project on either end – from Meerut to Haridwar and from Prayagraj to Varanasi from the get-go. A detailed project report (DPR) for this has not yet been prepared.

In September 2021, Uttar Pradesh Government’s cabinet approved the project’s construction. The project received environmental clearance (EC) in November 2021.

  • Total Estimated Cost: Rs. 40,000 crore
  • Project’s Total Length: 594 km
  • Lanes: 6 (expandable to 8)
  • Status: Under Construction
  • Developers: Adani Enterprises and IRB Infrastructure Developers
  • Owner: Uttar Pradesh Expressways Industrial Development Authority (UPEIDA)
  • Project Model: DBFOT under PPP

The project’s detailed project report (DPR) was prepared by L N Malviya Infra Projects Pvt. Ltd., Highway Engineering Consultant and Infratech Civil Solutions (Consortium).


Six lane Ganga Expressway’s structures will be constructed of 8 lane width to allow for future expansion. Its right of way (ROW) has been proposed at 120 meters with a 3.75m service road on one side of the expressway for local village traffic.

Current Status

As of May 2024, overall completion progress of Ganga Expressway stands at 46% per UPEIDA’s website.

  • Earth Work in Main Carriageway: 74%
  • C&G in Main Carriageway: 100%
  • GSB in Main Carriageway: 47%
  • WMM in Main Carriageway: 44%
  • DBM in Main Carriageway: 41%
  • Total Structures Completed: 1085/1348

Ganga Expressway’s land acquisition for about 6,556 hectares started in December 2020. As of April 2024 – 100% of it has been acquired.

In November 2021, Adani Enterprises and IRB Infrastructure Developers emerged as the preferred bidders for the expressway’s development – see details here.

Route Map

The expressway will pass through 12 districts of Meerut, Amroha, Bulandshahar, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Farrukhabad, Hardoi, Kannauj, Unnao, Rae Bareli, Pratagarh and Prayagraj.

The following not-so-pretty map from UPEIDA’s tender documents related to survey-work shows Ganga Expressway’s alignment and start/end points.

An official PDF route map will be added here when available.

Tenders & Contractors

Phase 1 of Ganga Expressway has been divided into 12 civil packages. In March 2021, UPEIDA invited tenders (RFQ & RFP) for the expressway’s development through 4 groups each consisting of 3 packages.

Technical bids were opened on November 23 to reveal 3 bidders: Adani Enterprises, Ashoka Buildcon and IRB Infrastructure Developers – see details here.

In November 2021, Adani Enterprises and IRB Infrastructure Developers emerged as the preferred bidders for the expressway’s development. IRB bagged Group 1 consisting of Packages 1-3, while Adani bagged Groups 2-4 consisting of Packages 4-12 – see details here.

In June 2022, HG Infra Engineering was subcontracted Group 2’s construction work for packages 4-6 and ITD Cementation was subcontracted Group 4’s work for packages 10-12 – see details here.

Package & ChainageLength (KM)
Package 1: Village Bijoli (District Meerut) to Village Chandner (District Hapur)48.871
Package 2: Village Chandner (District Hapur) to Village Mirzapur Dugar (District Amroha)30.000
Package 3: Mirzapur Dugar (District Amroha) to Village Nagla Barah/Jarenda (District Budaun)50.700
Package 4: Village Nagla Barah/Jarenda (District Budaun) to Village Binawar (District Budaun)52.100
Package 5: Binawar (District Budaun) to Dari Gulau (District Shahjahanpur)46.700
Package 6: Village Dari Gulau (District Shahjahanpur) to Village-Ubariya Khurd (District Hardoi)52.900
Package 7: Village Ubariya Khurd (District Hardoi) to Village-Iksai (District Hardoi)52.400
Package 8: Village Iksai (District Hardoi) to Village Raiyamau (District Unnao)50.200
Package 9: Village Raiyamau (District Unnao) to Village Sarso (District Unnao)53.100
Package 10: Village Sarso (District Unnao) to Village Terukha (District Raebareli)51.800
Package 11: Village Terukha (District Raebareli) to Village Naudhiya (District Pratapgarh)52.000
Package 12: Village Naudhiya (District Pratapgarh) to Village-Judapur Dando (District Prayagraj)53.047

UPEIDA Project Menu: Purvanchal Expressway | Bundelkhand Expressway | Gorakhpur Link Expressway | Ganga Expressway

Page last updated: May 7, 2024. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.