Bangalore–Vijayawada Expressway – Information & Status

518 km Bengaluru – Vijayawada Expressway project is a proposed 4-6 lane partially access-controlled highway with a route alignment in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.

This mix of brownfield-upgrade (36%) and greenfield (64%) project will be built under Bharatmala Pariyojana (BMP) Phase 2. The project will pass by the town of Kadapa and is also known as BKV Expressway.

  • Total Estimated Cost: Rs. 19,320 crore
  • Completion Deadline: TBD
  • Project’s Approx. Length: 624 km
  • Greenfield Section: 332 km (Kodikonda – Addanki)
  • Lanes: 4 – 6
  • Right of Way: 100m
  • Design Speed: 120 kmph
  • Owner: National Highway Authority of India (NHAI)
  • Status: DPR & Design Stage


The project consists of 3 sections:

  • Brownfield Upgrade: NH-44 Bengaluru, KA to Kodikonda, AP (73 km)
  • Greenfield Section: Kodikonda, AP to Addanki, AP (332 km)
  • Brownfield Upgrade: NH-16 Addanki, AP to Vijaywada, AP (113 km)

Lanes are proposed to be 3.75m wide. Sections will comprise of a 3m paved or 2m unpaved shoulder with a 19.50m depressed median.

Route Map

The expressway will connect towns and villages between Bengaluru – Kodikonda, Pulivendula, Mallepali, Vangapadu, Addanki, Chilakaluripet and Guntur and Vijayawada.

Tenders & Contractors

This section will be updated when tender notices for its construction are invited.

Package & ChainageContractor (Value)
Scope UnknownTBD

Page last updated: May 22, 2022. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.