Economic Corridors in India – Quick Snapshot

India’s Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) and National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) have identified several highway corridors of economic importance and see them carrying 25% of freight by 2030.

Around 26,163 km of new and existing routes (to be upgraded to expressway standards) have been identified as 44 Economic Corridor projects. Under Bharatmala Pariyojana Program (BMP) Phase 1, approximately 9000 km of projects are in various stages of development with Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) being prepared for the rest.

Criteria Set by MoRTH

  • Stretches with higher freight flow
  • Stretches with overall higher traffic
  • Stretches with ease of Land Acquisition and pre-construction activities and DPR preparation
  • Capacity augmentation from 4 to 6 lane would be taken in 2nd phase

This page provides a quick snapshot with a list of all Economic Corridors in India – under construction (ongoing), approved (upcoming) and proposed (planned) projects. Design standards (width, material) vary highly from project to project with each containing some or all access-controlled stretches.

The following table is best viewed on a Desktop device. Some of them have been linked to their dedicated project page which displays current status, alignment, deadline, land acquisition details, package and contractor information.

List of Economic Corridors in India

EC NoProjectStatesLength (km)
EC-xxAmbala – Kotputli Economic CorridorHaryana, Rajasthan313
EC-xxDelhi – Dehradun Economic CorridorDelhi, Uttar Pradesh & Uttarakhand210
EC-xxBareilly – Ludhiana Economic CorridorUttar Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab450
EC-xxNagpur – Vijayawada Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh405
EC-xxIndore – Hyderabad Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana687
EC-xxHyderabad – Raipur Economic CorridorTelangana, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh568
EC-xxBhopal-Kanpur Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh526
EC-xxMysore-Madikeri Economic CorridorKarnataka115
NH-150CSurat – Solapur Economic CorridorGujarat & Maharashtra513
NH-150CSolapur – Chennai Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Karnataka, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh & Tamil Nadu707
EC-1Mumbai – Kolkata Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, West Bengal 1854
EC-2Mumbai – Kanyakumari Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu1619
EC-3Amritsar – Jamnagar Economic CorridorPunjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat1316
EC-4Kandla – Sagar Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Madhya Pradesh1038
EC-5Agra – Mumbai Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh964
EC-6Pune – Vijayawada Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh906
EC-7Raipur – Dhanbad Economic CorridorChhattisgarh, Jharkhand707
EC-8Ludhiana – Ajmer Economic CorridorPunjab, Haryana, Rajasthan618
EC-9Surat – Nagpur Economic CorridorGujarat, Maharashtra593
EC-10Hyderabad – Panaji Economic CorridorTelangana, Karnataka, Goa593
EC-11Jaipur – Indore Economic CorridorRajasthan, Madhya Pradesh574
EC-12Solapur – Nagpur Economic CorridorMaharashtra563
EC-13Sagar – Varanasi Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh524
EC-14Kharagpur – Siliguri Economic CorridorWest Bengal516
EC-15Raipur – Visakhapatnam Economic CorridorChhattisgarh, Odhisha, Andhra Pradesh506
EC-16Delhi – Lucknow Economic CorridorDelhi, Uttar Pradesh494
EC-17Chennai – Kurnool Economic CorridorTamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh482
EC-18Indore – Nagpur Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh, Maharashtra464
EC-19Chennai – Madurai Economic CorridorTamil Nadu464
EC-20Mangalore – Raichur Economic CorridorKarnataka461
EC-21Tuticorin – Cochin Economic CorridorTamil Nadu, Kerala443
EC-22Solapur – Bellary – Gooty Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh434
EC-23Hyderabad – Aurangabad Economic CorridorTelangana, Maharashtra427
EC-24Delhi – Kanpur Economic CorridorDelhi, Uttar Pradesh424
EC-25Tharad – Phalodi Economic CorridorGujarat, Rajasthan394
EC-26Nagaur – Mandi Dabawli Economic CorridorRajasthan, Haryana387
EC-27Sagar – Lucknow Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh361
EC-28Sambalpur – Paradeep Economic CorridorOdisha360
EC-29Amreli – Vadodara Economic CorridorGujarat341
EC-30Godhra – Khargone Economic CorridorGujarat, Madhya Pradesh329
EC-31Sambalpur – Ranchi Economic CorridorOdhisha, Chhattisgarh329
EC-32Bangalore-Mallapuram Economic CorridorKarnataka, Kerala323
EC-33Raisen – Pathariya Economic CorridorMadhya Pradesh320
EC-34Bangalore – Mangalore Economic CorridorKarnataka319
EC-35Chittorgarh – Indore Economic CorridorRajasthan, Madhya Pradesh303
EC-36Bilaspur – Delhi Economic CorridorHimachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Delhi302
EC-37Solapur – Mahabubnagar Economic CorridorMaharashtra, Telangana290
EC-38Bangalore – Nellore Economic CorridorKarnataka, Andhra Pradesh286
EC-39Ajmer – Udaipur Economic CorridorRajasthan286
EC-40Sirsa – Delhi Economic CorridorHaryana, Delhi278
EC-41Sirohi – Beawar Economic CorridorRajasthan255
EC-42Jaipur – Agra Economic CorridorRajasthan, Uttar Pradesh240
EC-43Pune – Aurangabad Economic CorridorMaharashtra222
EC-44North East Economic CorridorArunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura3246

Page last updated: March 23, 2024. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.