Meerut Metro – Information, Route Map, Fares, Tenders & Updates

Menu: News & Construction Updates | Overview


Meerut Metro is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) under construction in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh.

Meerut Metro Phase 1’s DPR (Detailed Project Report) was prepared by RITES and submitted to the UP state government on June 30, 2016 for its approval. In 2017, the Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (then Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation) was assigned a ‘coordinator’ role to bring all stakeholders together and get the project started.

  • NCRTC’s Meerut Metro Deadline: 2025
  • My Completion Estimate: 2026

The project’s 20 km Line-1 with 11 stations is under construction and will utilize the under construction 82.15 km Delhi – Meerut RRTS line’s infrastructure being built by National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC). It will consist of 8 special metro-only stations and 30 coaches will be supplied by Alstom (Bombardier) to service the line in a configuration of 10 trains with 3 cars.

The project’s 15 km Line-2 with 14 stations is in the proposal stage, and will be built and operated by Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited (UPMRCL).

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 20 km | Approved: 0 km | Proposed: 15 km

Meerut Metro Route Information

Line-1: Partapur – Modipuram

  • Length: 20 km
  • Owner: National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC)
  • Status: Under Construction
  • Type: Elevated: 14.40 km & Underground: 5.6 km
  • Depot: Modipuram Depot
  • Number of Stations: 11
  • Station Names: Partapur, Rithani, Shatabdi Nagar, Brahmapuri, Meerut Central, Bhaisali, Begum Pul, MES Colony, Daurli, Meerut North and Modipuram.
  • Note: this line’s construction will be integrated with the construction of the 82 km Delhi – Meerut Smart Line (RRTS). Stations in bold above will be integrated with the RRTS. Rest will be serviced by local metro trains.

Line-2: Shradhapuri Phase II – Jagriti Vihar

  • Length: 15 km
  • Owner: Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited (UPMRCL
  • Status: Proposed
  • Type: Elevated (10.7 km) and Underground (4.3 km)
  • Number of Stations: 13
  • Station Names: Sharadhapuri Phase 2, Kanker Khera, Meerut Cantt. Railway Station, Rajban Bazar, Begumpul, Baccha Park, Shahpeer Gate, Hapur Adda Chauraha, Gandhi Ashram, Mangal Pandey Nagar, Tej Grahi, Medical College, Jagruti Extension

Meerut Metro Master Plan (Route Map)

Official line colors have not been announced. Location of stations is tentative. The embedded map below can be zoomed into!

An official PDF route map of Meerut Metro’s master plan will be added here when available.

Meerut Metro’s Rolling Stock

Alstom Transport in February 2024 rolled out their first 3-coach Alstom train-set for Meerut Metro‘s 25 km Line-1 (Partapur – Modipuram). This train is based on Alstom’s Adessia commuter family of trains.

Meerut Metro Fares (Ticket Prices)

Meerut Metro’s fare structure, rules and ticket types haven’t been announced yet. That will be finalized closer to the start of commercial operations.

Meerut Metro Tenders

Latest Meerut Metro’s notices inviting tenders can be viewed on NCRTC’s website and UPMRCL’s website. News on these notices, their bidders, awarded tenders and contracts are covered in further detail here on news & construction page.

Meerut Metro’s Major Contractors

General Consultant (GC) for RRTS & Metro ProjectAyesa lngenieria Y Arquitectura – ITALFERR – Ayesa India (AIAI)
Rolling Stock: Supply of 30 coaches (rolling stock) as part of 210 RRTS rolling stock contractAlstom Transport (won by Bombardier Transportation)
Part of Package-3: Partapur – Shatabdi Nagar (elevated viaduct and 3 stations at Partapur, Rithani & Shatabdi Nagar)Larsen & Toubro (L&T)
Package-5B: Modipuram Depot & WorkshopKSM Bashir Mohammad & Sons
Package-7: Shatabdi Nagar – Brahampuri DN Ramp AND Begumpul Ramp – Modipuram (elevated viaduct and 5 stations at Brahmapuri, MES Colony, Daurli, Meerut North and Modipuram)Larsen & Toubro
Package-8: Brahampuri DN Ramp to Begumpul UP Ramp (underground twin tunnels and 3 stations at Meerut Central, Bhaisali and Begumpul)Afcons Infrastructure

Click on ‘News & Construction Updates’ below for project news, progress and updates.

Menu: News & Construction Updates | Overview

Page last updated: March 23, 2024. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.