Agra – Gwalior Expressway – Information & Status

88.40 km Agra – Gwalior Expressway by NHAI is a proposed 6 lane access-controlled highway with a route alignment through the states of Uttar Pradesh (UP), Rajasthan (RJ) and Madhya Pradesh (MP).

This greenfield expressway’s Detailed Project Report (DPR) was prepared by LEA Associated South Asia Pvt. Ltd under the Bharatmala Pariyoana program. Its prefeasibility report can be viewed here.

The expressway’s route will connect Deori Village on Agra’s Inner Ring Road with Susera Village on Gwalior Bypass. Along the way it’ll pass by Bhind and Morena, and have an interchange with the proposed 408.77 km Chambal Expressway.

The expressway is expected to be completed and opened in 2027. It is expected to reduce travel time between Agra and Gwalior to just an hour from the current 2-3 hour journey.

  • Total Estimated Cost: Rs. 2497.84 crore
  • Project’s Length: 88.4 km
  • Lanes: 6
  • RoW: 60m
  • Design Speed: 100 kmph
  • Status: DPR Prepared; Bids for construction invited in December 2023
  • Land Acquisition Required: 502 hectare
  • Deadline: TBD
  • Owner: National Highways Authority of India (NHAI)
  • Project Model: Engineering, Procurement and Construction (EPC)

Route Map

An official PDF route map of the project will be added here when available. A village list will be provided when available.

The proposed greenfield 6 lane highway falls in UP’s Agra district from km 0.000 to km 20.200, in Rajasthan’s Dholpur district from km 20.200 to km 47.200, and in MP’s Morena district from km 47.200 to km 88.250 and Gwalior district from km 88.250 to km 88.400.

Current Status

Bids for Agra – Gwalior Expressway’s construction work via 3 packages were invited on December 15, 2023. Tenders for all 3 packages were cancelled on January 5, 2024. Retender notices are pending

Tenders & Contractors

The expressway’s construction has been divided into 3 packages:

Package (Distance)Contractor (Value) / Status
Package 1: Ch.0.000 Km to Ch.36.800 Km in Uttar Pradesh and RajasthanRe-tender notice pending
Package 2: Ch.36.800 Km to Ch.51.200 Km in Rajasthan and Madhya PradeshRe-tender notice pending
Package 3: Ch.51.200 Km to Ch.88.400 Km in Madhya PradeshRe-tender notice pending

Page last updated: January 26, 2024. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here.