Vijayawada Metro – Information, Map & Updates

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview


The Vijayawada Metro system is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) that has been approved to be built in the city of Vijayawada and in Amaravati – the new capital of Andhra Pradesh, in the future.  The project will be executed by the Amaravati Metro Rail Corporation (AMRC) along with the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) which was assigned as the project’s executor in September 2015.

Bids have been for the construction of 2 packages of Line-2 and construction is expected to begin in 2017.

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 0 km | Approved: 26.03 km

Line 1 – Pandit Nehru Bus Station (PNBS) to Penamaluru: 12.76 km with 12 stations

Line 2 – Pandit Nehru Bus Station (PNBS) to Nidamanuru: 13.27 km with 13 stations

Note: Official line colors have not been assigned yet.

Future Network: Phase 1

The embedded map below can be zoomed into!

Line 1 – Pandit Nehru Bus Station, Museum, IG Stadium, DV Manor, Benz Circle, Autonagar Gate, Ravindra Bharati School, Gayatri JR Colege, Law College, Tadigadapa, Poranki and Penamaluru

Line 2 – Pandit Nehru Bus Station, Railway Station South, Railway Station East, Besant Road, Sri Sathya Sai Mandir, SRR Government College, City Cancer Hospital, Gunadala, Ramavarappadu Ring, Prasadampadu, Ramakrishna Weigh Bridge, Enikepadu and Nidamanuru

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview