Hyderabad Metro Phase 1 – Information, Route Maps, Tenders & Updates

Menu: News & Construction Updates | Overview | Phase 1 Info | Phase 2 Info | Airport Metro Express LineFares & Smart Card Info

Phase 1 Information

Larsen and Toubro Metro Rail Hyderabad Ltd (LTMRHL) began construction work on Hyderabad Metro’s 72 km Phase 1 project in April 2012 under the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) model.

The first section (Miyapur – Ameerpet – Nagole) opened in November 2017 and the last section (JBS – MGBS) opened on February 7 2020.

Phase 1 Routes

This phase involves the construction of 3 new lines on standard gauge tracks:

Line-1  Red Line – Miyapur – L B Nagar (29.87 km)
• Type: Elevated
• Depot: Miyapur
• Stations (27): Miyapur, JNTU College, KPHB Colony, Kukatpally, Balanagar, Moosapet, Bharatnagar, Erragadda, ESI Hospital, SR Nagar, Ameerpet, Punjagutta, Errum Manzil, Khairatabad, Lakdi-ka-pul, Assembly, Nampally, Gandhi Bhavan, Osmania Medical College, MG Bus Station, Malakpet, New Market, Musarambagh, Dilsukhnagar, Chaitanyapuri, Victoria Memorial, LB Nagar

Line-2  Green Line – JBS Parade Ground – MGBS (9.6 km)
• Type: Elevated
• Depot: Nagole
• Stations (9): Jubilee Bus Station (JBS) Parade Ground, Secunderabad West, Gandhi Hospital, Musheerabad, RTC X Roads, Chikkadpally, Narayanaguda, Sultan Bazaar and Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station (MGBS)
• Note: This line was originally envisioned to be 14 kms long and connect Falaknuma. Construction through the old city (5 km section) could never commence due to local politically influenced protests over land acquisition.

Line-3  Blue Line – Nagole – Raidurg (28 km, 23 stations)
• Type: Elevated
• Depot: Nagole
• Stations (23): Nagole, Uppal, Stadium, NGRI, Habsiguda, Tarnaka, Mettuguda, Secunderabad East, Parade Ground, Paradise, Rasoolpura, Prakash Nagar, Begumpet, Ameerpet, Madhura Nagar, Yousufguda, Jubilee Hills Road No. 5, Jubilee Hills Check Post, Peddamma Temple, Madhaour, Durgam Cheruvu, Hitec City, Raidurg

The embedded maps below can be zoomed into!

Phase 1 Route Map

An official PDF route map of Hyderabad Metro’s original Phase 1 network can be viewed and downloaded here.

Key for map below: Phase 1 (Operational) | Phase 2  (Planned) 


Latest Hyderabad Metro (HMRL) tender notices can be viewed on the HMRL’s website. News on these notices, their bidders and contracts are covered in further detail on the news & construction page.

List of Major Contractors

ConcessionaireL&T Metro Rail Hyderabad
Operations & Maintenance ContractorKeolis
Owner’s Engineer (General Consultant)AECOM – Feedback Infra JV
Programme ManagerParsons Brinckerhoff
Independent EngineerLouis Berger Consulting
Independent Safety & RAMSHalcrow
Traffic ConsultantsLEA Associates
Financial ConsultantsDeloitte Touche Tohmatsu
Carbon Credits ConsultantErnst & Young
Detailed Design Engineer for 6 stations at Ameerpet, Parade Grounds, Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station, Panjagutta, Hi-Tech City, and Jubilee Hills CheckpostMott MacDonald
Rolling StockHyundai Rotem
CBTC SignalingThales Group

History – Key Dates

Phase 1
• 29 November 2017: Nagole – Ameerpet (Blue Line) – 17.60 km
• 29 November 2017: Miyapur – Ameerpet (Red Line) – 12.20 km
• 24 September 2018: Ameerpet – LB Nagar (Red Line) – 16 km
• 20 March 2019: Ameerpet – HITEC City (Blue Line) – 8.5 km
• 29 November 2019: HITEC City – Raidurg (Blue Line) – 1.5 km
• 7 February 2020: JBS – MGBS (Green Line) – 9.6 km

Click on ‘News & Construction Updates’ below for project news, progress and updates.

Menu: News & Construction Updates | Overview | Phase 1 Info | Phase 2 Info | Airport Metro Express LineFares & Smart Card Info

Page last updated: December 23, 2022. Have a question or spot an error? Let me know here