PM to Inaugurate Delhi Metro’s Extn to Faridabad on Sep 6

As per a Press Release by the DMRC, the Badarpur-Faridabad extension of the Delhi Metro’s Violet line will be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on September 6! The 13.875 km line has nine stations and will bring Faridabad on the metro’s map. The 9 stations include: Sarai, NHPC Chowk, Mewala Maharajpur, Sector 28, Badkal Mor, Old Faridabad, Neelam Chowk Ajronda, Bata Chowk and Escorts Mujesar.

Ajronda Depot - Photo Copyright: Tribune India

Ajronda Depot on Badarpur – Faridabad line  – Photo Copyright: Tribune India

Trial Run on Faridabad Line - photo: Daily Mail, used under Creative Commons License (By 2.0)

Trial Run on Faridabad Line – Photo Copyright: Daily Mail

While trial runs on this stretch began in April, the safety inspection was carried out between August 10 and 12 after which the Commissioner of Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) gave its approval (See: CMRS Clears Badarpur-Faridabad Metro Line with Conditions).

This will be the first corridor that Modi will inaugurate since he became the PM in May 2014. Till now, the extensions to Mandi House and ITO stations were inaugurated by the urban development minister and Delhi government officials.

Following this extension, the Violet line will become 38.23 km long and the Delhi Metro will break the 200 km barrier to become roughly 207.87 km long!

For more updates on the Delhi Metro, check out the Delhi section of the TMRG!


written by

Global traveler who prefers mass rapid transit

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Join the discussion...