Bangalore Metro Removes Narayanapura/Jyothipuram Station & Repositions Krishnarajapuram Station in Phase 2

March 2017 update – The Jyothipuram Station has made a comeback and will be located exactly where it was struck off below. See a new map here.

Original Post:

Due to land acquisition issues, a section of Bangalore’s Metro’s  Purple line’s extension in Phase 2 has been affected and the Bangalore Metro Rail Corp Ltd (BMRCL) has now decided to alter the plan for 2 stations along the 15.50 km Baiyyappanahalli – Whitefield section. As per the new proposal:

  1. The plan to build a station at Narayanapura (station officially called Jyothipuram) has been cancelled
  2. The Krishnarajapuram (K R Puram) station will be moved west by 295 meters due to objections by the Lowry Memorial High School over acquiring their property.
Change of plan

Change of plan – view original full map

As per one BMRCL official:

The plan changes were okayed during a high-powered committee meeting with the chief secretary at Vidhana Soudha. It is very difficult to acquire land in that area. Moreover, the K R Puram railway line runs on one side of the proposed Reach-I extension. It will not be possible to link the entry on this side of the line with other Metro-related infrastructure on the other side by building stairs. Hence, we have decided to remove Narayanapura from our network and slightly shift the K R Puram Metro station to the left.

With this change, from 14 new stations along this section, there will now be 13 new stations at K.R.Puram, Narayanapura, Mahadevapura, Garudacharyapalya, Doddanakundi, Vishvesharaiah Industrial Estate, Kundalahalli, Vydehi Hospital, Satyasai Medical Institute, ITPL, Kadugodi, Ujwala Vidyalaya and Whitefield.

As a reminder, April 2016 is the deadline for acquiring land for Phase-II which includes the following lines:

Extensions of existing lines:
Purple Line – Mysore Road – Kengeri – 6.47 km
Purple Line – Baiyyappanahalli – Whitefield – 15.50 km
Green Line  – Puttenahalli – Anjanapura – 6. 29 km
Green Line – Hesaraghatta cross – BIEC – 3.77 km

New Lines:
R V Road – Bommasandra – 18.80 km
Gottigere – Nagavara – 21.25 km

For more updates on Bangalore’s Metro, check out the Bangalore section of The Metro Rail Guy!


written by

Global traveler who prefers mass rapid transit

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Join the discussion...