Ahmedabad Metro – Information, Map & Updates

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview


The Ahmedabad Metro system is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) being built to serve Ahmedabad – Gujarat’s biggest city and its capital, Gandhinagar, in the future. Construction for its 39.259 km first phase started in 2015 and is expected to be completed by 2022 (estd.). Detailed planning for its future phases is yet to begin.

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 15.47 km | Approved: 23.789 km

Line 1 (East-West): Vastral Gaam – Thaltej Gaam: 20.737 km

Line 2 (North-South): Motera – APMC: 18.522 km

Currently only 15.47 km of the 39.259 km Phase 1 network is under construction from Apparel Park to Vastral Gam (6 km), Gyaspur to Shreyas (4.62 km) and Motera to Ranip (4.85 km). In July 2016, MEGA completed inviting construction bids for all other pending sections. Construction work for them is expected to start in 2017 and be completed by 2023.

Future Network: Phase 1

The embedded map below can be zoomed into!

North-South line
: Motera stadium, Sabarmati, AEC, Sabarmati railway station, Ranip, Vadaj, Vijay Nagar, Usmanpura, Old High Court Interchange, Gandhigram, Paldi, Shreyas, Rajiv Nagar, Jivraj Park, APMC, Gyaspur (Depot)

East-West line: Thaltej Gam, Thaltej, Doordarshan Kendra, Gurukul Road, Gujarat University, Commerce Six Roads, Stadium, Old High Court Interchange, Shahpur, Gheekanta, Kalupur railway station, Karwan Bazar, Kankaria East, Apparel Park (depot), Amraiwadi, Rabari Colony, Vastral, Nirant Cross Roads, Vastral Gam

List of Major Contractors

Contract Contractor
General Consultancy Services Systra-RITES-Oriental-AECOM
96 Coaches (Rolling Stock) Yet to be Awarded
Signalling System Yet to be Awarded
Apparel Park Depot URC Construction
Gypaspur Depot Gannon Dunkerly – PSPO JV
Vastral Gam – Apparel Park
(Viaduct – 6 km)
J Kumar Infraprojects
Vastral Gam – Apparel Park
(6 Stations)
Gyaspur Depot – Shreyas
(Viaduct & 4 Stations – 4.62 km)
IL&FS Engineering
Motera – Ranip
(Viaduct – 4.85 km)
Ranjit Buildcon
Motera – Ranip
(5 Stations)
Pratibha – Ranjit JV
Shreyas to Ranip
(Viaduct & 6 stations – 8.94 km)
Simplex Infrastructure
East Ramp to Kalupur
(Tunnels & 2 stations – 2.45 km
Afcons Infrastructure
Kalupur to West Ramp
(Tunnels & 2 stations – 4.38 km)
Larsen & Toubro
Thaltej Gam to West Ramp
(Viaduct, Sabarmati Bridge  &
7 stations – 8.21 km)

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview