Silver Colour Assigned for Delhi Metro’s Aerocity – Tughlakabad Line

Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) today announced it has officially assigned the under construction 20.201 km Line-10 connecting Tughlakabad – Saket G Block – Aerocity through 15 stations as the network’s Silver Line.

DMRC in the past has used primary colours (Red, Yellow & Blue) for Phase 1’s lines, secondary or complimentary colours (Violet, Green, Orange) for Phase 2 lines, and tertiary & neutral colours (Pink, Magenta & Grey) for Phase 3’s new lines.

The Silver Line’s basic & mostly underground route in South Delhi was finalized in July 2016 as part of the 61.679 km (and growing) Delhi Metro Phase 4 project, and approved for construction by India’s Central Government on March 7, 2019.

In the future, the Violet Line’s Sarita Vihar Depot will be augmented (DMRC received 3 bids) to house the Silver Line’s rolling stock, and the DMRC might construct an additional depot or stabling yard in Vasant Kunj.

The 15 stations on the Silver Line will be built at Tughlakabad, Tughlakabad Railway Colony, Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tigri, Khanpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Saket G Block, Saket, Lado Sarai, Mehrauli, Kishangar, Masoodpur, Vasant Kunj (Sec-D), Mahipalpur and Delhi Aerocity

Silver Line’s route connecting Aerocity – Saket – Tughlakabad – view Delhi Metro Phase 4 information & full route map

A 7.96 km elevated & underground spur of the Silver Line connecting Lajpat Nagar – Saket G-Block is pending approval from the Central Government’s Cabinet. That branch will consist of 6 stations at Saket-G Block, Sheikh Sarai, Chirag Delhi, GK-1, Andrews Ganj and Lajpat Nagar.

A consortium of AECOM Singapore – Tandon Consultants – AECOM India Pvt Ltd. was assigned as the Silver Line’s Detailed Design Consultant (DDC) in November 2018, and so far DMRC has only invited and awarded one section’s construction, the 4.28 km Package DC-04 connecting Sangam Vihar – Saket G-Block through 4 elevated stations, to YFC Projects Ltd. which in August began casting U-girders at their casting yard in Pushp Vihar.

Bids for the Silver Line’s remaining roughly 15 km underground section’s 3 civil packages are yet to be invited and are dependent on the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)’s approval.

Package DC-07: Anandayee Marg to Tughlakabad, 6.477 km underground section with 3 stationsTender Notice Pending
Package DC-08: Aerocity to Vasant Kunj Sec-D, 5.49 km underground section with 4 stationsTender Notice Pending
Package DC-09: Masoodpur – Neb Sarai (Saket G Block), 6.88 km underground section with 4 stationsTender Notice Pending

Personally, I think the Silver Line’s colour is awfully close to grey (used for Line-9 connecting Najafgarh), and I probably would have preferred brown or something like neon green to set it apart. Gold is another option, but would have been too similar to orange and yellow.

Fun Fact: DMRC had earlier assigned brown to be the colour for the now operational Pink Line, which is also being extended in Phase 4, but changed their mind sometime in 2015.

For more updates, check out the Delhi section of The Metro Rail Guy!


written by

Global traveler who prefers mass rapid transit

16 Responses to "Silver Colour Assigned for Delhi Metro’s Aerocity – Tughlakabad Line"

  1. Clevin Gomes says:

    It’s good that DMRC have also included Lajpat nagar-saket Line as a Branch Line of Tuglakabad Corridor. Well, personally I believe instead of being a completely new Line, it will be better to merge it with Aerocity-Tuglakabad line, to provide Metro access Between IGI Airport and Lajpat nagar via saket and Chattarpur. Well TMRG, there are some rumors that the line will further extend till IGI Airport T1, is it true ?

    • TMRG says:

      That’s the plan 🙂 If ever approved, trains from Lajpat Nagar on the spur line will continue onward to Aerocity. Saket G Block Station will be similar to Blue Line’s Yamuna Bank Station where trains branch out towards Noida and Vaishali.

      One of the plans during Phase 4’s finalization was to extend the line to T1, but that section got dropped. Possible reason is the proposed Air Train’s route:

      • Himanshu Doria says:

        Wouldn’t be better if the spur line is developed as a metrolite route. This route has very low projected PHPDT anyway.

        • Arjun says:

          It’s a farce, mate. Routes with lose feasibility are approved, while Bangalore congested ORR airport line isn’t ‘feasable’ according to the centre. It’s a total joke.

  2. Arjun says:

    Delhi gets a shiny new ‘silver’ line, while Bangalore’s airport line is yet to be deemed ‘feasable’ by the center. …. complete and utter shambles. Even middle of nowhere towns like Kanpur are getting projects approved. …. this is a farce of epic proportions. The bias is there for all to see.

    • Himanshu Doria says:

      Unfair to blame center for the so-called delay of ORR metro. Most of the contracts of Bangalore Metro phase 2 have been awarded only in 2017 while the project was on drawing board since 2011. Plus the concerned state govt was doing policy flip-flops for the ORR line. The work only moved forward during 2019 when the final DPR of the ORR line after many changes was approved by the concerned govts.

      Even then the funding pattern was not finalised, first the PPP model was proposed for the whole line, but it got lukewarm response from the private players. Now the route of ODA loans have been taken, the tenders have floated and bidding is underway for several packages. Centre’s permission is not required to start construction. In the case of Delhi metro, the approval of Noida extension of blue extension came very late from the Centre and funds were granted when the work was almost complete.

  3. Dhananjay says:

    I was under the impression that Delhi government had approved all six corridors but centre had only approved 3 ‘priority’ corridors. Is that incorrect?

  4. Pankaj says:

    Hi TMRG, you have wrongly mentioned the names of stations as Saket, Lado Sarai and Mehrauli has been dropped and you also have shown it in the map now it will go from chattarpur. Request you to put the name of IGNOU and chattarpur instead of lado sarai and mehrauli. ASI told to DMRC to divert the route as Lado Sarai and Mehrauli Station are too close to protected sites. Any comments?

  5. SARFRAZ says:

    I have send u many pics of construction site of this line.

  6. vipin says:

    Why not DMRC have any extension plan of Delhi Metro’s Blue Line from Dwarka Sector 21 to Aerocity so that it can connect with upcoming Silver Line (Aerocity to Tughlakha Bagh).


Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *