Construction Begins on Nagpur Metro’s Reach 4 Section

Officials from Maharashtra Metro Rail Corporation (MahaMetro) and ITD Cementation India on Thursday conducted a groundbreaking / bhoomi puja ceremony to launch construction work on the 18.557 km east-west line’s Reach 4 section between Sitabuldi and Prajapati Nagar in east Nagpur. This 8.15 km elevated section is overall the 3rd of 4 sections in the city where construction has commenced, with work well underway at Reach 1 (Sitabuldi-Khapri) and Reach 3 (Sitabuldi-Lokmanya Nagar).

A major part of this section’s viaduct will be built on the congested Central Avenue or “CA Road” with a roughly 1 km double-decker structure at Pardi and 8 new stations at Nagpur Railway Station, Dosar Vaisya Square, Agrasen Square, Chittaroli Square, Telephone Exchange, Ambedkar Square, Vaishnao Devi Square and Prajapati Nagar. Coincidentally, ITD Cementation emerged as the lowest bidder for the stations’ construction in May and is expected to be awarded its contract in the coming weeks.


Reach 4 between Sitabuldi & Prajapati Nagar – view Nagpur Metro information & map


Photo Copyright: Tapas Roy

Cozy launch event location – Photo Copyright: Tapas Roy

MahaMetro’s MD – Brijesh Dixit – Photo Copyright: VTA

Inaugural pile – Photo Copyright: Dainik Bhaskar

Phase 1’s Status

Green: Under Construction (Viaduct & Stations) – Reach 1 & 3 | Red: Under Construction (Viaduct) & Financial Bids Opened (Stations) – Reach 4 | Purple: Bids Invited (Viaduct) & Bids Yet to be Invited (Stations) – Reach 2 | Black: Bids Yet to be Invited – Sitabuldi Interchange

For more updates, check out the Nagpur section of The Metro Rail Guy!


Share this post!
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponShare on TumblrEmail this to someonePrint this page

written by

Global traveler who prefers mass rapid transit

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *