Patna Metro – Information, Map & Updates

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview


The Patna Metro system is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) proposed to be built in Patna, Bihar’s capital and largest city. The project’s Detailed Project Report was prepared by RITES, approved by Bihar’s state government on February 9, 2016 and is currently waiting for an approval by the Central Government.

Construction for its 30.92 km first phase is expected to start in 2018.

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 0 km | Proposed: 30.92

Line 1 (East – West): Danapur Cantonment – Bypass Chowk: 16.9 km with 14 stations

  • Elevated: 5.29 km with 4 stations
  • Underground: 11.33 km with 9 stations
  • At-grade (ground): .28 km with 1 station

Line 2 (North – South): Patna Junction – ISBT: 14.02 km with 12 stations

  • Elevated: 9.625 km with 9 stations
  • Underground: 4.575 km with 3 stations

Note: Official line colors have not been assigned yet.

Future Network: Phase 1

The embedded map below can be zoomed into!


Line 1: Danapur Cantonment, Saguna Mor, RPS Mor, IAS Colony, Rukkanpura, Rajabazaar, JD Women’s College, Raj Bhavan, Secretariat, High Court, Income Tax Roundabout, Patna Junction, CNLU, Mithapur and Bypass Chowk

Line 2: Patna Junction, Dak Bungalow, Gandhi Maidan, Kargil Chowk, PMCH, Patna University, Pre Chandra Rangashala, Dinkar Golambar, Rajendra Nagar, NMCH, Kumhrar Park, Mahatma Gandhi Setu, Zero Mile and ISBT

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview