Kanpur Metro – Information, Map & Updates

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview


The Kanpur Metro system is an urban Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) that is approved to be built in the city of Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh. The Detailed Project Report was prepared by RITES and approved by the state cabinet on March 14, 2016. Following that, the Central Government approved the project on May 23, 2016. The project’s foundation stone was unveiled on October 4, 2016.

Bids for the project’s Detailed Design Consultant have been invited by the Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation and construction on Line 1 is expected to begin in 2017.

Line 1 –  IIT Kanpur to Naubasta: 23.785 kms with 22 stations
Type: Elevated:15.164 km | Underground: 8.621 km

Line 2 – Chandra Shekher Azad University to Jaurali: 8.6 kms with 9 stations
Type: Elevated

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 0 km | Proposed: 32.385 km

Future Network: Phase 1

The embedded map below can be zoomed into!

Line 1  IIT Kanpur, Kalyanpur Railway station, Kanpur University, Gurudev Chauraha, Geeta Nagar, Rawatpur Railway Station, Moti Jheel, Harsh Nagar, Gwai, Chunni Gunj, Bada Chauraha, Phool Bagh, Kanpur Central Railway Station, Jhakarkati Bus Terminal, Transport Nagar, Rania, Kendranchal, Pashupati Nagar, Baudh Nagar, Naubasta

Line 2  Agriculture University, Rawatpur Railway , Kakadeo, Vijay Nagar Chauraha, Govind Nagr, Barra-7 Road, Barra-8, Jarauli

Menu: Construction Updates | Overview